Aiming at promoting EU research and facilitating global academic and civil society exchanges and cooperation, the European Union (EU), in 1998, began establishing European Union Centers at prestigious universities in developed countries around the world. The first EU Center was set up at the USA and then extended to Canada, New Zealand, and Australia. In Asian area, the first EU Center was established in Japan in 2004. There are currently 32 such centers around the world: 10 are located in the USA, 5 are in Canada, 4 are in Japan and Korea, 3 are in Australia and Russia, while New Zealand, Taiwan and Singapore each hosts 1 centre. These centers construct a global EU research network. Varied in name though, all the centers are endorsed by the EU to become a platform for the communication and cooperation between EU and the society/academia of the individual country. The centers are connected to become a local and global EU research community.

   Efforts on making the EU Center in Taiwan a reality began right after the European Commission expressed its intention to create an office in January, 2008. The Preparatory Committee of National Taiwan University (NTU) for the Creation of the EU Center in Taiwan (EUTW) was immediately established. The EUTW united several Taiwanese universities into a single consortium on September 2nd, 2008. The Consortium consists of NTU, National Chengchi University (NCCU), National Chung Hsing University (NCHU), Catholic Fu-Jen University (FJU), Tamkang University (TKU), National Sun Yat Sen University (NSYSU), and National Dong Hua University (NDHU). Acting as the lead institution of a consortium of seven major universities in Taiwan, the NTU proposed its plan, and signed the Grand Agreement with the European Commission on December 31st, 2008. The first phase of the plan will run for four years, from 2009 to 2012, to be funded by a total budget of 1.55 million Euros. The EU injected 1.1 million Euros, while the Consortium will provide the balance according to the agreed percentages. Under the terms of the agreement, the EUTW is located in NTU, and an office for coordination and cooperation is situated at each consortium university.

  Based on 2009-2012 agreement, EUTW and consortium renewed and extended a 2013-2015 agreement, which was due on December 31st, 2015. To respond the change of responsible institution in EU, EUTW encourages consortium to apply to EU for Jean Monnet Project (JM Project), which aims at gathering the expertise and competences of high-level experts to create joint transnational activities and structural links with academic institutions in other countries. From 2016, each EUTW member not only applies individually to EU for the JM Project, but also holds some relevant activities collectively.

EUTW Website

EU Centre at NCHU

   The European Union Center at NCHU (hereinafter referred to as the Center) was established to promote the comprehension of EU to NCHU students and to participate in the activities sponsored by European Union in Taiwan (EUTW). The Center, appertained to the Office of International Affairs of NCHU, is a task-force-based unit. In accordance with the EUTW budgets, activity needs and the guidelines for agreed percentage budgets, the sources of the Center’s annual budgets are those of OIA’s or Top-University’s. A Director and an Executive Director (selected from NCHU faculties) are appointed by the President of NCHU for the Center. The 2 directors take charge of the official affairs. An assistant is set to help with the management of relevant issues.



1.To facilitate academic, cultural cooperation, communication and civil society interaction between NCHU and EU countries.

2. To advance the comprehension of EU policies to NCHU students and support EUTW’s activities.

3.To promote EU academic and cultural cooperation and communication by integrating colleges, industrial & economic institutes, and NGO’s in central Taiwan.