EU Center - EUTW

The EU in brief

The European Union is a unique economic and political union between 27 EU countries that together cover much of the continent.

Several institutions are involved in making decisions at EU level, in particular:

  • The European Parliament, which represents the EU’s citizens and is directly elected by them
  • The European Council, which consists of the Heads of State or Government of the EU Member States
  • The Council, (also called the Council of the European Union) which represents the governments of the EU Member States
  • The European Commission, which represents the interests of the EU as a whole.

For more information, check HERE.


History of EUTW

Work on making the EU Centre in Taiwan a reality began in early 2008 after the European Commission expressed its intention to create an office, and the Preparatory Committee of National Taiwan University (NTU) for the Creation of the EU Centre in Taiwan (EUTW) was immediately established. Members of the Preparatory Committee, including President Lee, Vice President Bau and Dean of International Affairs, Dr. Shen, made sincere efforts and eventually united several Taiwanese universities into a single consortium on September 22nd, 2008. The Consortium consists of NTU, National Chengchi University (NCCU), National Chung Hsing University (NCHU), Catholic Fu-Jen University (FJU), Tamkang University (TKU), National Sun Yat Sen University (NSYSU), and National Dong Hua University (NDHU). Acting as the lead institution of a consortium of seven major universities in Taiwan, the NTU proposed its plan, and signed the Grand Agreement with the European Commission on December 31st, 2008. The first phase of the plan will run for four years, from 2009 to 2012, to be funded by a total budget of 1.55 million Euros. The EU injected 1.1 million Euros, while the Consortium will provide the balance according to the agreed percentages.


Related Links

European Union Centre in Taiwan

Center for European Cultural Studies

EUTW Centre at FJU

Tamkang University Center for European Union Studies

European Centre in Taiwan of National Sun Yat-Sun University

European Union Research Centre, National Dong Hwa University